Comparison · Updated October 15, 2026

Chronos vs. Tavrn Medical Records & Other Medical Chronology Tools

A complete comparison of AI medical chronology software for personal injury and litigation paralegals — automated review vs. manual process, and Chronos vs. Superinsight, InPractice, and Tavrn. Every competitor claim comes from that vendor's own public materials. In short: Tavrn publicly describes record retrieval, chronologies and demand drafting as connected stages; InPractice publicly describes per-page pricing with citation-linked, editable summaries; Chronos is per-case software for reviewing a cited timeline in-house.

Considering outsourced review as well as software? Our medical record review companies and tools buyer's guide compares the service and in-house review models.

Tavrn vs InPractice at a glance

Attributed public product descriptions, reviewed October 15, 2026. Not stated means not established by the cited page, not an absent feature.
Vendor and sourceOCR / handwritingEditing / exportsPricing basisVerificationBAA on signup
Tavrn — official sourceNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
InPractice — official sourceOCR keyword search; handwriting Not statedWord, PDF and Excel; summary editingPage credits, not per-user feesSide-by-side original documentNot stated
Chronos — official sourceScanned records; verify handwriting against the sourceEditable Word; PDF exportPer case; firm-shared creditsSource viewer and editable timelineAvailable for an administrator to sign; not automatic at signup

Compare the published workflow, pricing basis and verification options in the table. Chronos publishes this comparison; it is not an independent benchmark. Request a demonstration and current contract from each vendor before deciding.

Chronos supports verification-first review: a confidence score on every extracted fact, a citation on every line, firm-shared per-case credits and a BAA available for an administrator to sign in workspace settings.

Check source verification on your own records, the current total price for your workload, export editability and the applicable data-processing agreement. A vendor's public marketing description is not proof of contract coverage.

Weighing whether this is worth bringing into your practice? See why litigation teams choose Chronos for the full case — the time saved, the cost math, and the defensibility.

// Automated medical chronology vs. manual review

AI review tool vs. manual process vs. generic AI

Before comparing specialized tools to each other, here's how automated medical chronology software for paralegals compares to the two most common alternatives.

Automated medical chronology vs. manual paralegal review vs. generic AI tools — key differences for law firms.
CapabilityManual paralegal reviewChronos (specialized AI)Generic AI (e.g. ChatGPT)
Time per case1–3 daysUnder 1 hourSeveral hours; output needs heavy verification
Source-page citation on every entryHand-noted by reviewerAuto-cited to the exact pageNot guaranteed — citations can be fabricated
Per-fact confidence scoreNoYesNo
HIPAA-eligible infrastructureWithin-firm controlsBAA available when appropriate + HIPAA-eligible infraEnterprise plan required; varies by provider
PHI stays within a compliant environmentYesYes — US-only, AES-256 encryptedRequires enterprise BAA; consumer tiers are not HIPAA-eligible
Editable structured timelineYes (prepared by hand)YesNo structured output
Export formatsWord, PDFPDF, DOCX, ExcelVaries
Predictable per-case costParalegal billable hoursFrom $39 / case, credits never expireSubscription + reviewer time

Note on generic AI. Consumer tiers of general-purpose AI assistants (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini) are not HIPAA-eligible. Enterprise plans may qualify with a BAA but do not provide structured citation tracking or a specialized chronology workflow. The comparison above describes general-purpose AI used directly for record review, not a specialized medical chronology tool that uses those models.

// Key differences

At a glance

Attributed public product descriptions, reviewed October 15, 2026. Not stated means not established by the cited page, not an absent feature.
Vendor and sourceOCR / handwritingEditing / exportsPricing basisVerificationBAA on signup
Chronos — official sourceScanned records; verify handwriting against the sourceEditable Word; PDF exportPer case; firm-shared creditsSource viewer and editable timelineAvailable for an administrator to sign; not automatic at signup
Superinsight — official sourceScans and handwriting describedNot statedMonthly plan; seat basis Not statedCitations to original recordsNot stated
InPractice — official sourceOCR keyword search; handwriting Not statedWord, PDF and Excel; summary editingPage credits, not per-user feesSide-by-side original documentNot stated
Tavrn — official sourceNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
// Side by side

Feature comparison

Chronos vs Superinsight vs InPractice vs Tavrn — AI medical chronology software compared, October 15, 2026.
CapabilityChronosSuperinsightInPracticeTavrn
Pricing basisPer-case creditsMonthly plan; seat basis Not statedPage credits, not per-user feesNot stated
BAA on signupOptional signing in workspace settingsNot statedNot statedNot stated
VerificationSource viewer and editable timelineCitations to original recordsSide-by-side original documentNot stated
Publicly documentedPartial Limited / scopedNot stated Not described in public materials
// The detail

How they differ, category by category

Accuracy & verification

All four tools link each entry back to the source records. That's the baseline any litigation team should expect. Chronos goes further: it adds a confidence score to every fact it pulls out. So a reviewer can check the low-confidence lines first instead of re-reading the whole file.

Superinsight publicly claims OCR accuracy above 95%, including handwritten notes. InPractice and Tavrn document citation-linked output, but they don't publicly describe a per-fact confidence score.

Pricing model

There are two ways to price this work. Chronos and Superinsight charge per case. InPractice charges per page (from $0.05 a page, with 500 pages free). Per-page billing can be cheaper for thin files, but it's hard to predict on a 3,000-page record. Per-case billing stays the same no matter the page count.

Chronos sells credit packs. One credit covers one case, at any page count. The credits never expire, and your whole firm can share them. Superinsight offers per-case pricing or a monthly subscription. Tavrn does not publish pricing.

Focused tool vs. broad platform

Tavrn is the broadest product. It's a personal-injury suite that covers intake, record retrieval, chronologies, and demand-letter drafting. If you want one vendor for the whole PI process, that range is the draw.

Chronos, Superinsight, and InPractice focus more on the record-review and chronology step itself. Chronos supports medical chronology and the review work around it — and the cited timeline also feeds demand packages, deposition summaries, and damages worksheets, with push-to-CMS integrations for Clio, Filevine, and Litify.

Security & compliance

Each vendor here addresses HIPAA in its public materials, but the specifics vary. Chronos makes its BAA available without an added plan fee when applicable. It runs on HIPAA-eligible infrastructure, with AES-256 at rest and TLS 1.3 in transit.

InPractice publicly describes continuous monitoring through Vanta. Superinsight and Tavrn state HIPAA compliance, but their public BAA and attestation details vary. Review current agreements and attestations before you buy.

// Pick by need

Which one is right for your firm?

Best for

Chronos

Verification-first review with a per-fact confidence score, predictable per-case pricing, and a BAA available when appropriate.

Best for thin files

InPractice

Pay-as-you-go per-page billing with 500 free pages — economical when your records are short.

Best for SSDI / multi-practice

Superinsight

Reports spanning Social Security disability, workers' comp, and other practice areas with high-accuracy OCR.

Best for end-to-end PI

Tavrn

A single platform covering intake, record retrieval, chronologies, and demand letters across the case lifecycle.

// FAQ

Common questions

Methodology. Every competitor figure and feature claim on this page comes from that vendor's own public website, pricing, and product docs, reviewed on October 15, 2026. We keep dated source notes for each claim and will share or correct them on request. "Not stated" means a feature isn't described in that vendor's public materials. It does not mean the feature is missing, and we never treat a gap in their docs as a flaw. Chronos details reflect our current product. Vendors change their products and pricing. If you spot something out of date, tell us through the contact options on our pricing page and we'll review it.

If you are weighing a PI platform with optional professional review, our page on EvenUp MedChrons alternatives compares those review models.

If you already hold the records and only need chronology review, our Tavrn alternatives guide separates retrieval from review.

For claims-oriented review, the Wisedocs alternatives comparison covers the review responsibilities to clarify with each provider.

See Chronos on your own records.

Run your first case free — no card required.

Published 2026-06-24 ·